Archive

Daily Archives: 04/05/2011

I’m back to blogging after apparently learning very well how to disconnect. I guess this learned behavior was a bit further reaching than I had intended. Disconnecting from the smartphone world was a wonderful thing for me and for Amelia and it ended up leaving a lot more technology in its wake. Over the past few months I’ve had a lot of changes in life and the time feels right for me to come back to blogging.

Here’s what I’ve been up to:

  • I’m a dad now. Samuel David Stern was born October 19th, 2010 at 10:58pm. He weighed 7lbs, 6oz and was 18.5″ long. Today Sam is about 5 1/2 months old, weighs somewhere between 14 and 16 pounds and is 25″ long. He’s full of personality, taking after both me and Amelia (more on that later); smiles; playfulness; gentleness; and joy.
  • I got laid off and then got a new job. The World Company made a decision to sell Sunflower Broadband to Knology, a cable company out of West Point, GA. Though there were many hints of the opposite, Knology ended up “right-sizing” a lot of employees, myself included. I left Knology on February 25th and started my new job at the University of Kansas on February 28th. I currently work part-time in Tech Support in the School of Education at KU. I love the job I’m at and the co-workers are great. We get a lot of work done and we have fun doing it.
  • Lots and lots of reading. Anything from books on parenting to texts for class, even including a few books read just for reading’s sake. Most recently read the “Percy Jackson and the Olympians” series by Rick Riordan. When I was in elementary school I was fascinated with Edith Hamilton’s quintessential text on Greek Mythology and this series of books brought back many memories and made me want to buy a new copy of Hamilton’s work. Next in the book queue is “Slaughterhouse Five” by Kurt Vonnegut. I’ve heard many good things about this book but have never read it.
  • Cooking. My adventures in the kitchen have gotten much more adventurous thanks to two new cookbooks that I adore. The first is How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman and the second is 660 Curries by Raghavan Iyer. Whether or not you like vegetarian food or if you like Indian food at all, go get these books and start cooking and enjoying some delicious food.

There’s probably more that I’ve been up to since September but I think that about catches you up to speed. I’ll be blogging here about whatever and whenever so I’m not about to make any promises on the quantity or type of content you can expect. Check back often for new content. Hopefully it will interest you at least a little bit.