Reminders of the past

I took the dogs to the Pet Store tonight to get more food for them and while making our way through the store the song “Stellar” by Incubus started playing. As I’m sure most people experience with one song or another, I felt immediately transported into my past. The album “Make Yourself”, on which “Stellar” can be heard, was one of my favorite albums during my senior year of high school.

High School.

For me, senior year of high school was 10 years ago. One decade. At this time 10 years ago I was in the final weeks of my life as a high-schooler, looking forward to attending the University of Nebraska. And just last week I gave a Spanish listening and speaking test to a senior in high school as part of a project for one of my classes at KU. In my Master’s program. Wow, 10 years has brought a lot of change.
Ten years ago all I could think about was graduation, going to college, trying to figure out what I would major in, and whether or not I would make it into the marching band at UNL. Today my thoughts are all about my wife Amelia, my son Sam, my school work (pursuing a Master of Science in Education, Curriculum and Teaching) and the thought that very soon I’ll be standing in my own classroom teaching Spanish and ESL.

The amazing thing to me is how this one song could bring back so many memories. Because of this song I remember comic books, making a jelly bean mural of Van Gogh’s “Starry Night”, my Grandfather’s heart attack, seeing Incubus live at Pershing auditorium, college applications, graduation, my high school girlfriend Denise, mission trips with my church youth groups, and so much more.

Where were you 10 years ago? Did you ever imagine the life you live now 10 years ago?

And what will life look like 10 years from now? The year will be 2021. I’ll start hearing about plans for a 20 year high school reunion, and I’m sure I’ll hear a song on a store’s radio that will remind me of the events of this year and all that came with it.

Leave a comment